Arctic Chat : Arctic Cat Forum banner

2001 Mountain Cat 600 efi squeal and no power

3K views 12 replies 4 participants last post by  diggerdown 
#1 ·
Hey everyone! first post here...alright story is i bought a 2001 mountain cat 600 efi from a buddy blown up. i am not a newb to snowmobiles and engines in general as i have been a busy small engine mechanic by word of mouth for a few years now..i ended up putting a brand new crankshaft and crankcase in as the bearing went out on the connecting rod in the crank and cracked the case. Brand new wiseco pistons and the works all around. i pulled the motor out of the sled leaving the motor mounts in exactly as they were. after i installed the motor it fired right up and idled like a champ but there were 2 issues i noticed. First off is an extremely loud squeal coming from the clutch side which im not sure what that is..any ideas would be awesome and secondly im not getting top end as i dont have a manual for the sled and dont know what to set the apv cables at..any help would be much appreciated!!:wacko:

#2 ·
BSKOOG I had this issue with the squeal on two sleds and it ended up being the belt rubbing on my primary clutch on both due to new belts. They eventually stopped. Might check that. Also i am having the same issue with the exact same sled on the top end. Removed engine just like you did and rebuilt the top end and now burning belt before take off like a lack of power. Did all i can with clutches like new spring and cleaned. Noticed my plugs are really wet and pistons as well even after couple hundred miles like its running crazy rich. So i might fallow your thread and keep you posted on what i find out on mine as well.

#3 ·