NavbitArcticChat.com - Arctic Cat Forum » Snowmobiles » General Snowmobile Discussion » 4.5 MPG on 1993 Pantera 550 Fuel Inj. 2 up

General Snowmobile Discussion Anything snowmobile related. Arctic Cat or not.

Old 12-02-2005, 02:57 AM   #1

Sled: 1993 Artic Cat Pantera 550 EFI 2 up
ATV: 2004 Artic Cat 500 2 up
Fairly new to the forum but I was a Class A Mechanic for cars 20 years ago.
Quick replies would greatly be appreciated.

I know sleds go through gas as I owned one 20 years ago, but this seems like something is wrong with the sled.

I went out and only got less than 40 miles on my tank full which calculated out to 4.5 MPG (canadian gallon). It cost me $30 to get there and $25 on the way back all for a short trip on Sat. afternoon last year.

I test the compression, looked for fuel injector leaks, spark plugs looks like its running rich being slightly black. Compression reaches 90 psi on both cylinders on the 1st crank and about 115 on both cylinders and 3rd crank of engine.

I have not done a leakdown test as I do have an automotive cylinder leakage tester. I am taking it into a shop over the weekend, but I was a Class A mechanic 20 years ago and I want to see what readings I get before they tell me I need seals or not.

Questions:
1. Can someone tell me how much or the max. pressure to put in for a leak tester.
Someone told me to watch out you can blow out the crank seals if too much psi.
I have quickly read a little and it seems they were talking about psi leaks from
3 psi to 15 psi leaks over a minute or something like that. Not sure what psi
they start testing at.

2. How much can it drop psi and how many minutes before you know the crank seals are leaking to bad? Example: excellent good bad replace seals

I am not sure what could cause the very very bad fuel comsumption.
3. Could seals make it eat gas?

A parts guy behind the counter said I should get 7-8 mpg but I am not sure if he is correct.