Arctic Chat : Arctic Cat Forum banner

'13 XC450i Clutchbelt let go.....,

9K views 81 replies 10 participants last post by  Canuck_Avalanche 
#1 ·
XC450i. 2013. Has 800km on it. Bought bike used with 750kms on it. First real trip with it; hit some mud, some water. Took everything fine.

Coming out while driving about 50km/hr on a dirt road I accelerated some more and all the sudden I felt slipping and then pop. After that it sounded like marbles in a can for a few seconds then nothing. Tried to move forward; reverse nothing.

Got towed back and after the bike shimmied around on the trailer for a bit I saw a bunch of small pieces of belt laying in the trailer.

I am new to quads. Is 800kms all I should expect from a belt? Should I be prepared to replace other parts or is the belt turning to shrapnel normal?

Super busy work week coming so won't be able to get into it until next week.

Thanks all!

#2 ·
No that is not normal.

#3 ·
Probably got some water in the belt intake and didn't realize it. the intake on those are known to be prone to let water in easy. Pull the clutch cover and clean it out real good, should be able to see if water was the culprit and put in a new factory belt

Reactions: Canuck_Avalanche
#4 ·
Thanks for the replies. I did go through some deep water; at least once it ran over the fenders when I first went in. The bike never sputtered like it had injested water so I didn't think much of it. It ran fine throughout; it wasn't until I drove the gravel roads the following day. When it did let go the clutch housing was hot as sh!t but never felt it before that.....

#5 ·
Make sure your belt intake clamp is tight. On one of our 500's we found the clamp was not tight from factory. But i think we also may have a crack some ware. since yesterday we were going through some water and a butty went by fast and threw a wave up on top of the machine and flooded the belt housing. Going to silicone up all the seams when i look for a leak.

#16 · (Edited)