NavbitArcticChat.com - Arctic Cat Forum » ATV's » General ATV Discussion » 700H1 won't idle won't clear code

General ATV Discussion Discussion Forum for Arctic Cat ATVs

Reply
Old 05-01-2012, 09:03 PM   #1
Member
 
Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: nevada
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ATV: 09 700
2010 Mileage: 1000
700H1 won't idle won't clear code

09 700 H1, had to replace the Idle speed control connector at the sensor. Cleared the Active code, Still wont idle, checked for any broken wires can't find any. Runs ok except won't idle. TPS is adjusted right according to the read out. Can the idle be adjusted on an EFI machine?

Also when cranking it, for some reason it backfired up thru the air filter and then a few minutes later started throwing AC 13 which is the Air Pressure code. This code i can not get to clear, it stays in when i do the reset procedure. Air filter is clean, connection looks good
What do you think?
ktooley is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old 05-02-2012, 09:52 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Base of the Rocky Mountains
Thanks: 91
Thanked 484 Times in 412 Posts
ATV: ThunderLemon 1000
2008 Mileage: Depends upon Fa
 Quote: Originally Posted by ktooley View Post
09 700 H1, had to replace the Idle speed control connector at the sensor. Cleared the Active code, Still wont idle, checked for any broken wires can't find any. Runs ok except won't idle. TPS is adjusted right according to the read out. Can the idle be adjusted on an EFI machine?

Also when cranking it, for some reason it backfired up thru the air filter and then a few minutes later started throwing AC 13 which is the Air Pressure code. This code i can not get to clear, it stays in when i do the reset procedure. Air filter is clean, connection looks good
What do you think?
Code 13 is for the MAP sensor Manifold Absolute or atmospheric Pressure. From what I've read here in the past. Most who have had this code have found either a leaking O-ring under the sensor body where it attaches to the throttle body or a broken wire in or near the sensor connector. The wire may be broken inside the insulation making it harder to find.

To set the idle the only thing you do is...make sure battery is fully charged. Have key off, Insert diagnostic jumper, Hold throttle wide open, Turn key on for 15 seconds(do not start) Turn key off and remove jumper. This sets throttle range
__________________
Have a Problem?

Troubleshooting First Steps, An amazing number of problems are cured with just these two items.

1. Make sure your battery is FULLY Charged.
2. Try a new spark plug.

Search threads, Check Pinned Section. Pinned Topics Manual or wiring diagram? Manuals
http://countrycat.com/ccstore/index...._Diagrams.html

Improving Search.

Better results when searching for specific information. To find threads where ALL the words, instead of ANY of the words "650H1, Carb, Jetting, Needle Jet, Snorkel" were found...Open up a search window in www.google.com In the find box type without the quotes "650H1 Carb Jetting Needle Jet Snorkel site:Arcticchat.com" & Press return. Find threads, replies or topics by a specific member; just by inserting their user name into the search list; Chances are, your problem is NOT unique and it has been solved many times before.

Are you in a hurry to get an answer?
Use the Google Search Tip

Last edited by Wyo_H1_Cat; 05-02-2012 at 09:56 AM.
Wyo_H1_Cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 10:09 AM   #3
Member
 
Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: nevada
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ATV: 09 700
2010 Mileage: 1000
could it be that the o-ring under the Idle Speed Control is leaking? When i took that sensor out the o-ring fell apart and i only had to guess at the size of it, i got it close but the sensor seemed like it didnt quite go in all the way on one side. I never had it off but I'll check the MAP sensor also. Thanks
ktooley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 10:24 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Base of the Rocky Mountains
Thanks: 91
Thanked 484 Times in 412 Posts
ATV: ThunderLemon 1000
2008 Mileage: Depends upon Fa
 Quote: Originally Posted by ktooley View Post
could it be that the o-ring under the Idle Speed Control is leaking? When i took that sensor out the o-ring fell apart and i only had to guess at the size of it, i got it close but the sensor seemed like it didnt quite go in all the way on one side. I never had it off but I'll check the MAP sensor also. Thanks
The Idle speed controller is just an Air valve that opens and closes to let air into the engine and maintain correct idle. At idle the main throttle butterfly is fully closed and all air entering the engine passes through the idle speed control port. if it is leaking in additional air past a bad O-ring yes I'm thinking that could result in a high idle.
__________________
Have a Problem?

Troubleshooting First Steps, An amazing number of problems are cured with just these two items.

1. Make sure your battery is FULLY Charged.
2. Try a new spark plug.

Search threads, Check Pinned Section. Pinned Topics Manual or wiring diagram? Manuals
http://countrycat.com/ccstore/index...._Diagrams.html

Improving Search.

Better results when searching for specific information. To find threads where ALL the words, instead of ANY of the words "650H1, Carb, Jetting, Needle Jet, Snorkel" were found...Open up a search window in www.google.com In the find box type without the quotes "650H1 Carb Jetting Needle Jet Snorkel site:Arcticchat.com" & Press return. Find threads, replies or topics by a specific member; just by inserting their user name into the search list; Chances are, your problem is NOT unique and it has been solved many times before.

Are you in a hurry to get an answer?
Use the Google Search Tip
Wyo_H1_Cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 10:26 AM   #5
Member
 
Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: nevada
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ATV: 09 700
2010 Mileage: 1000
I don't have high idle.....i have no idle.
ktooley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 11:36 AM   #6
Member
 
Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: nevada
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ATV: 09 700
2010 Mileage: 1000
Got it.....took the Idle control valve back out greased the o-ring got it to seat better. Took off the MAP sensor connection checked it for broken wires, put it back on. Reset the throttle, reset the codes. Idles great now.
Thanks for your help i never would have checked the MAP sensor unless you suggested it!
Thanks again!!
ktooley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 06:52 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Minnesota
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ktooley,
I am looking to get a new 4 pin connector that goes to the throttle body. Is that the same connector you replaced? If so where did you get it?
I had 3 broken wires to it, replaced the pins in the connector. The plug just doesnt fit right and I would like to splice in a new plug without getting a whole new harness. Your help would be greatly appreciated. thanks!
wjglampe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 07:38 AM   #8
Team ArcticChat
 
ZR600MN's Avatar
Team ArcticChat  
Team ArcticChat
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Albertville, MN
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
ATV: '09 700 Cruiser, '09 400 TRV
2010 Mileage: 1000
2009 Mileage: 500
Also Check your fuel pressure. My 09 550 would not idle but would run fine otherwise. I checked my fuel pressure and found it to be 10 psi low. When I pulled the fuel pump I found that the rubber tube that connects the pump was loose causing the fuel pressure to be low.
ZR600MN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 04:25 AM   #9
Member
 
Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: nevada
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ATV: 09 700
2010 Mileage: 1000
I sent you a message, but you should be able to see your dealer, mine told me that AC made it possible to order just the connectors with a pigtail on them and then all you have to do is splice them in. Check with your dealer you should be able to get just the connector. Good luck!

ps...on mine it seemed that if i didnt have the sensor all the way in then it still wouldnt run...so make sure you have it seated good...it is a bi#$h to get in place sometimes.

Last edited by ktooley; 12-08-2012 at 04:27 AM. Reason: ps
ktooley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   ArcticChat.com - Arctic Cat Forum » ATV's » General ATV Discussion


Search tags for this page
2008 polaris ranger 700 rough idle
,

arctic cat 700 throttle valve 4 pin connector

,

arctic cat how to check idle speed control valve

,

arctic cat idle speed control valve

,

how to clear codes 09 550 h1

,

how to clear codes on a arctic cat 700 h1

,
polairs ranger xp wont idle
,

polaris ranger 700 wont idle

,

polaris ranger code 46

,
polaris ranger xp 700 air intake sensor
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Idle speed control valve code ktooley General ATV Discussion 2 04-05-2014 01:23 PM
09 700H1 idle RPM Oldcrow General ATV Discussion 5 04-21-2010 01:46 PM
07 F6 High/Irregular idle, loads up at idle dennisondb F Chassis ('07-???) 0 02-15-2010 10:19 PM
New guy here...and try to clear something up Maineac General ATV Discussion 5 07-21-2008 05:49 PM


Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.