NavbitArcticChat.com - Arctic Cat Forum » ATV's » General ATV Discussion » Replacing a Crank Position sensor w/o stator?

General ATV Discussion Discussion Forum for Arctic Cat ATVs

Reply
Old 07-15-2011, 10:12 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
sixohh's Avatar
 
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: drillin' my life away
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Arrow Replacing a Crank Position sensor w/o stator?

im trying to bring a 700 zukiCat back to life and ive come across a error code AC12= CPS

the bike runs ok but it is a pain to start sometimes and it has a stutter sometimes under throttle (encase you guys are wondering what the symptoms are)

my question is, has anyone ever replaced or repaired a CPS without just replacing the stator?

I have replaced several stator's and they always come with the CPS as part of the assembly ive never looked any further than that.

im assuming the CPS cant be bought standalone and is probably non serviceable! im going to run some more tests on it today to make sure its not in the harness and is infact in the sensor....
__________________
"Tonka caT"
30"R-Laws-2.5" Lift-Memphis 8's-Rigid LED
JL 300/4 amp-Dual AGM Batts-chopped seat
Blinky Blinks-Six-Ohh Snorks-MP 1000 axles

sixohh is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old 07-15-2011, 12:57 PM   #2
Sponsors
 
pondtunes's Avatar
 
Sponsors
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Salisbury, NC
Thanks: 5
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
 Quote: Originally Posted by sixohh View Post
im trying to bring a 700 zukiCat back to life and ive come across a error code AC12= CPS

the bike runs ok but it is a pain to start sometimes and it has a stutter sometimes under throttle (encase you guys are wondering what the symptoms are)

my question is, has anyone ever replaced or repaired a CPS without just replacing the stator?

I have replaced several stator's and they always come with the CPS as part of the assembly ive never looked any further than that.

im assuming the CPS cant be bought standalone and is probably non serviceable! im going to run some more tests on it today to make sure its not in the harness and is infact in the sensor....

Is the CPS the same thing as the pickup? I assume you're talking about the sensor thats mounted with the stator, I have a shot stator with a good pickup if you need it you can have it for whatever shipping is!

I don't see why you couldn't cut the faulty one out and wire in a new one id sure give that a shot before putting in a new stator.
__________________
We're Just Like You.... Only Dirtier....

2005 Arctic Cat 650 H1 LE
28" Monkies on LE Whels
Whoolie Shop Underbody LEDs / Snork LEDs
Twin 5" Vision X Evo Prime LED Offroad Lights
Stock Headlight Delete
Viper Elite 4000 lb winch
Airdam /// w/ fixed plate mod
Racked Rad
Full 2" Snorkels

Ask me about LED Lighting & Accessories for your ride
www.whoolie.com

pondtunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 06:24 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
sixohh's Avatar
 
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: drillin' my life away
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
yes that's what im talking about sensor/ crank position pickup.

i really appreciate the offer bud. i really do.

im stating to wonder if its bad because even with it showing the code i can still ride it with no problems besides the fact that its super lean.

today i found out it has a broken pin on the ECU and i need to figure out what its assigned to.

surely if the CPS was bad it wouldn't run at all. i can unplug the wire coming from the motor side and it kills the bike. i wander if the error is coming from the ECU????

it needs a VDi or programmer anyways so i might kill 2 birds with one stone
__________________
"Tonka caT"
30"R-Laws-2.5" Lift-Memphis 8's-Rigid LED
JL 300/4 amp-Dual AGM Batts-chopped seat
Blinky Blinks-Six-Ohh Snorks-MP 1000 axles

sixohh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 12:38 AM   #4
Sponsors
 
pondtunes's Avatar
 
Sponsors
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Salisbury, NC
Thanks: 5
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
Yeah I'd venture to say it wouldn't run without it either. Seems to be one of those critical things


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
We're Just Like You.... Only Dirtier....

2005 Arctic Cat 650 H1 LE
28" Monkies on LE Whels
Whoolie Shop Underbody LEDs / Snork LEDs
Twin 5" Vision X Evo Prime LED Offroad Lights
Stock Headlight Delete
Viper Elite 4000 lb winch
Airdam /// w/ fixed plate mod
Racked Rad
Full 2" Snorkels

Ask me about LED Lighting & Accessories for your ride
www.whoolie.com

pondtunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 05:39 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
sixohh's Avatar
 
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: drillin' my life away
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Yeah it runs fine besides the error code itself, I pulled the ECU to find a broken pin so im wondering if that's where my problem is. And the headlights don't work so its gatta be one of the two
__________________
"Tonka caT"
30"R-Laws-2.5" Lift-Memphis 8's-Rigid LED
JL 300/4 amp-Dual AGM Batts-chopped seat
Blinky Blinks-Six-Ohh Snorks-MP 1000 axles

sixohh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   ArcticChat.com - Arctic Cat Forum » ATV's » General ATV Discussion


Search tags for this page
2006 ltr450 ckp sensor
,
artic cat 550hl side by side crank position sensor
,
crankshaft position sensor location yamaha grizzly 550
,

grizzly 700 crankshaft position sensor

,
how to check 09 polaris 700 efi crankshaft position sensor
,

ltr 450 crank position sensor

,
rzr crank sensor values
,
sensor grizzly 700
,
trouble shooting a yamaha grizzly crankshaft sensor
,

where is the crankshaft sensor on a grizzly 700

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throttle Position Sensor sck Z/ZL/ZR/ZRT/Tcat/EXT/jag/cougar 1 03-01-2010 04:50 PM
throttle position sensor steelerman 4 Strokes 4 12-15-2009 10:21 PM
Brake position sensor???? kaw550 Z/ZL/ZR/ZRT/Tcat/EXT/jag/cougar 2 01-19-2009 03:42 PM
Throttle Position Sensor on 98 EFI uncleredbuck Z/ZL/ZR/ZRT/Tcat/EXT/jag/cougar 12 02-06-2006 09:30 AM
Throttle position sensor gvrunyn XFR/Firecat/Sabercat 7 01-12-2005 08:20 PM


Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.