NavbitArcticChat.com - Arctic Cat Forum » ATV's » General ATV Discussion » Setting throttle postion sensor?

General ATV Discussion Discussion Forum for Arctic Cat ATVs

Reply
Old 05-01-2011, 07:43 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jackson,Maine
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Sled: 06 T660 touring LE 07 T660 touring LE
08-09 Mileage: 700
07-08 Mileage: 500
06-07 Mileage: snow goddamit
ATV: 2008 Thundercat,2013 can am commander
2008 Mileage: 800
2007 Mileage: 400
2006 Mileage: 1100
Setting throttle postion sensor?

Any idea how to set it on my tcat? Dynatek says to check it cause my tcat has a miss on low end with the dynatek ignition module .
__________________
Member of the broken frame club! Both V2s got new frames Thanks Arcticcat! 2008 Thundercat need i say more!!!!!New bighorns on SS212s and a new tamarack boom it box for the back!R.I.P Captian Phil Harris
mainerider is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old 05-01-2011, 09:08 PM   #2
Team ArcticChat
 
texasrapier's Avatar
Team ArcticChat  
Team ArcticChat
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Texas
Thanks: 2
Thanked 93 Times in 87 Posts
It actually pretty simple if you know how to pull codes.

Put the code jumper in and turn on the ingnition. If you have no codes you should see -ACOO

The little dash in front of the code is the TPS setting. If the dash is in the center your good if it's low or high it needs to be adjusted.

Loosen the locking screw on the TPS and move it till the dash is in the center.

One thing to note. Make sure that there is a 1/8 inch to a 1/4 inch of free play in your throttle. If there is no free play in the cable it may be slightly opening the butterfly which will through the TPS off.
__________________
Arctic Cat Service Tech
Retired Coast Guard Chief Engineer.
texasrapier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 09:33 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2011
Location: ruther glen virginia
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have a 2009 thunder cat H2 , i am getting a code on speedo that says Fing repeaded over and over what should i look for ?
rwthompson47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 11:01 AM   #4
Team ArcticChat
 
quadman15's Avatar
Team ArcticChat  
Team ArcticChat
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: southern california
Thanks: 4
Thanked 32 Times in 26 Posts
ATV: 2008 Arctic Cat 1000
2010 Mileage: 460
2009 Mileage: 1448
2008 Mileage: 1436
2007 Mileage: 1200
2006 Mileage: 1000
 Quote: Originally Posted by mainerider View Post
Any idea how to set it on my tcat? Dynatek says to check it cause my tcat has a miss on low end with the dynatek ignition module .
READ COMPUTER CODES

Key off

Insert Jumper pin in Diagnostic plug
Key on

Read codes on the

pod display

Key off

Remove the jumper pin

RESET COMPUTER CODES
Key off

Insert Jumper pin in Diagnostic Plug
Put in 4 wheel drive

Depress the Reverse Override Button
Key On

Pod will read AC-00

All codes have been reset

Key off

Remove jumper pin

SET THROTTLE POSITION SENSOR
Key off

Insert jumper pin in diagnostic plug
Key on

Loosen Throttle Position sensor retaining screw
Adjust Throttle position sensor until the mark
on the pod is centered

Tighten Throttle Position sensor screw
Key off

Remove Jumper pin

SET IDLE SPEED CONTROL
Key off

Insert jumper pin in diagnostic plug
Hold throttle open

Key on

Hold throttle open for 10 - 15 seconds
Key off

Remove Jumper Pin
__________________
ARCTIC CAT THUNDERCAT 1000 H2
quadman15 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to quadman15 For This Useful Post:
KillenTime15 (06-17-2012)
Old 05-02-2011, 11:05 AM   #5
Team ArcticChat
 
quadman15's Avatar
Team ArcticChat  
Team ArcticChat
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: southern california
Thanks: 4
Thanked 32 Times in 26 Posts
ATV: 2008 Arctic Cat 1000
2010 Mileage: 460
2009 Mileage: 1448
2008 Mileage: 1436
2007 Mileage: 1200
2006 Mileage: 1000
 Quote: Originally Posted by mainerider View Post
Any idea how to set it on my tcat? Dynatek says to check it cause my tcat has a miss on low end with the dynatek ignition module .
Here What the codes mean, and my next post is how to
read out and reset these codes.

CODE DESCRIPTION
S C = Stored code A C=Active Code
AC00
No fault detected Active only
12
Crank position sensor *
13
Manifold Absolute Pressure
14
Throttle position sensor
15
Engine coolant temp sensor
16
Speed sensor
21
Inlet air temperature Sensor
23
Tilt Sensor *
24
Ignition coil #1 *
26
Ignition coil #2 *
32
Fuel injector #1 *
34
Fuel injector #2 *
40
Idle speed control
41
Fuel pump Relay
60
Cooling fan relay
95
Sensor power
96
Incorrect ECU *
97
ECU memory power
98
UART Comm Link
99
Start/Run not possible
*
Will initiate 99
__________________
ARCTIC CAT THUNDERCAT 1000 H2
quadman15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 02:27 PM   #6
Team ArcticChat
 
triplej's Avatar
Team ArcticChat  
Team ArcticChat
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Snow Country
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
ATV: 2010 XTZ Prowler
Pretty sure the machine is at operating temp prior to adjusting TPS, someone correct me if I'm wrong.
__________________
2010 Desert Red Metallic XTZ 1000 Prowler -
27" Grim Reaper Tires/Home Made Roof/Arctic Cat Mirror/Quadboss Folding Windshield w/ home made support bar/LED Tail - Brake lights/Tellico Short Tailgate straps/Venom 4000 lb Winch/Amsteel synthetic line/Home Made Doors/Custom Adjustable Seats/Custom Oh Crap bar for passenger/Tonneau Cover/2-Fat Max storage Boxes in bed/Tiger Tail Towing system




Still to come

Custom shifter
Stereo
triplej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 08:54 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
arcticcat21's Avatar
 
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Northern MN
Thanks: 17
Thanked 60 Times in 59 Posts
Sled: 2010 Crossfire 800 SP LE
ATV: 2012 Wildcat, 08 T-Cat LE, 2012 HDX 700
I have the same problem with my dynatek box. What is the diagnostic jumper? And is there a part number so I can order one? They also told me to check the TPS. Thing is, I checked voltage from the stock wire and it was within spec on both legs. When I checked it on the dynatek harness it reads low on one leg and right on on the other. It seemed strange to me so I got another box and harness and got the same results.
__________________
2012 XF 800 High Country
2012 Wildcat 1000 H.O.
2012 Prowler HDX 700 Camo
04 90cc Green, 03 90cc Red
Thundercat Mud Pro
Powered by
Airdam Clutches
Speedwerx
Amsoil
Arctic Cat
arcticcat21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 10:00 AM   #8
Team ArcticChat
 
quadman15's Avatar
Team ArcticChat  
Team ArcticChat
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: southern california
Thanks: 4
Thanked 32 Times in 26 Posts
ATV: 2008 Arctic Cat 1000
2010 Mileage: 460
2009 Mileage: 1448
2008 Mileage: 1436
2007 Mileage: 1200
2006 Mileage: 1000
 Quote: Originally Posted by arcticcat21 View Post
I have the same problem with my dynatek box. What is the diagnostic jumper? And is there a part number so I can order one? They also told me to check the TPS. Thing is, I checked voltage from the stock wire and it was within spec on both legs. When I checked it on the dynatek harness it reads low on one leg and right on on the other. It seemed strange to me so I got another box and harness and got the same results.
Beside the fuse box, there is a 6 wire white connector, there
is a light blue wire and a black wire that come into the
connector, Take a large paper clip, cut it off so it looks
like a large U shape. Sharpen the ends a little bit and
stick it into the connector, so the Blue and Black wires
are in contact. The white connector is where the
dealer plugs in his fancy diagnostic machine, but for
our use jumpering the blue and black wire lets us read out
the codes, clear the codes, set the Idle Speed Control and
the Throttle Position sensors, Just follow my instructions
in this post and you can do it all.

To set the Throttle position sensor, you have to remove the
front fenders as the sensor is on the rear of the Throttle
body and the two retaining screws are impossible to reach
with the body on, To set the sensor loosen the screws
slightly with a #25 Torx bit, barely move the sensor in a circular motion until the
little indicator on the pod is centered, recheck the
indicator after you tighten the rataining screws as it sometimes
moves a little, keep adjusting and tightening until you get it perfect.

When you set the Idle Speed Control, Make sure the engine is warmed
up to operating temperature.
__________________
ARCTIC CAT THUNDERCAT 1000 H2

Last edited by quadman15; 05-04-2011 at 10:04 AM.
quadman15 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to quadman15 For This Useful Post:
ac10 (06-18-2012), arcticcat21 (05-04-2011), groundman1 (05-05-2011)
Old 05-10-2011, 07:13 PM   #9
Member
 
skipper's Avatar
 
Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sudbury Ontario Canada
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Sled: 1968 panther single banger.
ATV: 2009 700H1 auto & 2006 500 auto
2007 Mileage:
Thanks, had issue with my idle on my 700h1
followed your instructions and quad is all mint again!!

started acting up this winter when i was plowing snow.
tried other instructions i found on here with no success!!
was thinking of bringing to deale!!!
don't have 2 no more!!!
__________________
2009 700H1 auto
Lime Green
hand and thumb warmer
windsheild with mirrors
3000 lbs Warn winch
aluminium itp rims
26" XTR tires
2006 500 auto
Lime Green
low profile snorkel
hand and thumb warmer
windsheild with mirrors
2500 lbs Warn winch
aluminium itp rims
26" Mudlite tires
front and rear bumpers
b/up light 60" plow
skipper is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to skipper For This Useful Post:
quadman15 Team ArcticChat (05-17-2011)
Old 06-06-2011, 07:38 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
last5oh_302's Avatar
 
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ontario
Thanks: 33
Thanked 70 Times in 65 Posts
ATV: 2008 700EFI TRV LE
2008 Mileage: 4500 km's
What does EC-00 mean? I just checked my TPS and got this _EC-00
Adjusted TPS and it seems to start from cold better already.
__________________
2008 700EFI TRV LE
RTR 2" flex bracket lift, HIDs, Amsteel Blue synthetic winch rope, Aluminum Hawse fairlead, winch saver, ITP SS212s, 28" Outlaw MSTs, Kimpex trunk box, AC front bumper, 3000lb Warn winch, Garmin 60CX GPS, Hosstopper stick savers, Intake snorkel
last5oh_302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   ArcticChat.com - Arctic Cat Forum » ATV's » General ATV Discussion


Search tags for this page
ac 700 efi tps voltage
,

adjusting throttle position sensor on arctic cat efi 700 2008

,
arctic cat 700 idle adjustment#gsc.tab
,
how to adjust tps on 2010 arctic cat h1
,
how to check throttle position sensor on artic cat 700
,
how to set idle speed control on a 2010 arctic cat mud pro
,
thundercat tps adjustment
,

tps will not go to center on 2008 arcticcat 700 efi

,
where is ckp sensor located on 2011 arctic cat prowler 1000
,

where is tps 550 h1

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throttle Position Sensor Emberley XFR/Firecat/Sabercat 6 03-03-2014 04:38 PM
Throttle Position Sensor: Throttle Switch TJDIV CrossFire 136-141 3 12-13-2010 10:37 PM
Throttle Position Sensor sck Z/ZL/ZR/ZRT/Tcat/EXT/jag/cougar 1 03-01-2010 04:50 PM
HOW DO YOU BY PASS YOUR THROTTLE POSTION SENSOR CODYNEAL XFR/Firecat/Sabercat 3 01-07-2010 06:04 PM
proper setting for throttle sensor kazookid Sled Mods & Tech-Tips 1 12-11-2005 12:21 AM


Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.